top of page

Acerca de

Who are the
Order of Celtic Francisans?

The Order of Celtic Franciscans (OCF) is grounded in the Celtic Tradition committed to serving God and the needs of you and your loved ones and are open to everyone as expressed in Gal 3: 26-28; ‘We are all children of God… for we are neither Greek nor Jew, slave nor free, male nor female, of one skin color or another, for we are all one in Christ Jesus.’  We do not require anyone to renounce their denominational affiliation or faith tradition to worship with us. 

All are welcome wherever we serve! 

We celebrate both ancient and contemporary Celtic Catholic Rites and the expressions of Celtic Spirituality which allows for freedom of worship forms and style.  From our long-standing roots  including our orthodox lineage (St. Mark) we offer a new vision based on the original First Century Church of Jesus Christ, for those who see a Church that is Celtic Catholic, and Sacramental. 

The Cornerstone of the Order of the Celtic Franciscans is based on the Great Commandment of Jesus who told us to 'Love our Neighbor' (Mt 22:36-40). Without Love, we believe there can be no Church.  Our two primary theological views are an awareness of the radical incarnation of God within Creation, and the belief in Ultimate Reconciliation (Christian/Patristic Universalism). 

Our contemporary Celtic Franciscan belief is in the power of Original Blessing vs the concept of Original Sin.  We reject any Biblical interpretation that leads to a crippling fear of a punitive God without mercy and compassion, and the haunting fear of eternal conscious torment (Hell).  We believe that such beliefs are contrary to the image of a loving Heavenly Father revealed by Christ in the Gospels. 

The Order of the Celtic Franciscans apostolic succession and its sacraments are all valid and licit through being a religious  order within The Celtic Catholic Church of the Americas, which is a full, valid, and true particular Church.  The sacraments we celebrate are the traditional seven which are Holy Orders, the Eucharist, Baptism, Chrismation/Confirmation, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick ( Last Rites), and Holy Matrimony. 

bottom of page